We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

there are neither wholes nor parts

by Scott McLaughlin

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €5 EUR  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    CD in digisleeve packaging.

    Also includes immediate download of 6-track album in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.

    Includes unlimited streaming of there are neither wholes nor parts via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      €6 EUR or more 




We are transported. From the very first attack of opening track of the debut album from Shannon-born composer Scott McLaughlin, we are brought outside of ourselves. With each repetition, each new statement, we are drawn further into the topology of a completely distinct planet.

A line-up of luminary musicians from Montréal to Huddersfield to Amsterdam — Quatour Bozzini, Trio Scordatura, Jonathan Sage, Iain Harrison, and the Metastable Collective — all perform with such focus and control. The music unfolds slowly, steadily. Each sound is allowed its own space, its own shape.

‘Listening is the act of choosing the scale on which we perceive,’ writes McLaughlin. ‘The pieces collected here all play on the ambiguity between wholes and parts in the fabric of music.’ With each track, the listener’s sensitivity to the music’s internal worlds increases, making for a truly immersive experience.

Born in 1975, Scott McLaughlin played in indie-rock bands until his mid-twenties, then studied music at the University of Ulster at Jordanstown, followed by an MA and PhD at the University of Huddersfield. He now lives in Huddersfield and is a part-time lecturer in the School of Music at the University of Leeds.



released December 27, 2013

Composed and produced by Scott McLaughlin

Quatour Bozzini (track I):
Clemens Merkel & Mira Benjamin, violins
Stéphanie Bozzini, viola
Isabelle Bozzini, cello

Jonathan Sage, basset horn & clarinet (tracks II and VI)

Metastable Collective (track III)

Iain Harrison, alto saxophone (track IV)

Trio Scordatura (track V)
Alfrun Schmid, violin & voice
Elisabeth Smalt, viola & voice
Bob Gilmore, keyboard

John Klepko, recording engineer on track I
Scott Mc Laughlin, recording engineer on tracks II, III, IV, V, VI
Benedict Schlepper-Connolly, photography & design

All tracks mixed and mastered by Scott McLaughlin in Huddersfield in November and December 2013.

This recording was made possible with funding from CePRA, the Centre for Practice-Led Research in the Arts at the University of Leeds.


all rights reserved



Ergodos Dublin, Ireland

Ergodos is a record label based in Dublin, Ireland. info@ergodos.ie

contact / help

Contact Ergodos

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account